Guy tries out a new personality.

paxil-and-vodka.jpg

Part of Slate’s best of.   Seth Stevenson tries 52 days on Paxil.  What’s it like?  Click here.

Excerpt:  “In retrospect, it was a bad idea to screw with my brain chemistry and possibly inflict lifelong damage just for the sake of experiment. I would not do something like this again. At the height of my withdrawal I was seriously terrified, thought it might never end, and repeatedly cursed my own stupidity. The fact that I considered a wholesale career change under the drug’s effects, and couldn’t complete any work, is alarming. Also, the zaps are for real. Fear them.

At the same time, I admit it was fascinating to try out a different personality. He only came out when I drank, but I caught a glimpse of an alternate me, and he wasn’t such a bad guy—if a little gabby. I think I gained some empathy for other types of folk, and maybe got an idea of how alcohol can mean different things to different people. I also sort of discovered what emotions are for and decided being shy isn’t so bad after all. Thanks, Paxil!”

~ by searching4alpha on March 23, 2007.

One Response to “Guy tries out a new personality.”

  1. These type of drugs take weeks to get into your system so Day one, day two that he is sick, is crap. Same thing with his “withdrawal” days. Takes awhile to get out of your system. Sorry, but I call BS on this!

Leave a Reply

 
